March Birchbox | Product Review

For months, I’ve heard whispers of Birchbox. Since I love getting packages in the mail, I finally caved and signed up. Do you know how fun it is getting this little box every month? I love it! So without further ado, here’s my take on March’s box (I know, I’m about 87 years behind).

Illume | Go Be Lovely Lavish Hand Creme
A paraben-free hydrator full of plant oils and butters in an addictive scent. $20.00 Full-size

hand creme Five Points to Ponder:

  • I wouldn’t say the scent is my favorite of all time (Desert Tulip), but it’s not bad either.
  • As far as the “greasiness” of lotion, this rates average. I.E. You can still turn a door knob after using it.
  • It does moisturize rather nicely.
  • The good news is they have other scents, so I’d definitely try Catus Verde.
  • If I’m going to spend some cash on lotion, Bath and Body Works still win.

Verdict: Oui! | Je Ne Sais Pas | Non

LA FRESH | Eco-Beauty Waterproof Makeup Remover
Biodegradable, alcohol-free wipes that erase all traces of makeup without drying. $9.99 for Pack of 18
makeup-remover
Five Points to Ponder:

  • It smells like a Spa. So….does anyone want to buy me a massage?
  • While they did get off most of my makeup, they didn’t get it all off (but still better than most I’ve tried). Not the A+ student, but not D is for Degree either.
  • I’d definitely use these for travel, but not every day use.
  • They’re completely biodegradable, which not only makes me feel better about using them on my face, but about planet Earth too. If it’s not destroying the planet, can’t do much harm to my face then right?
  • The cost is a bit more than your everyday Target options, but since I don’t use wipes like this unless I’m traveling, it’s be worth it to me.

Verdict: Oui! | Je Ne Sais Pas | Non

theBalm | How ‘Bout Them Apples? Cheek & Lip Cream
From the just-launched palette, a dual-purpose, creamy stain with just a hint of shimmer. $32.00 Full-size

photo 5

Well, I just noticed this picture is totally not in focus. I’m so embarrassed. Looks like I need more sleep.

Five Points to Ponder:

  • This references one of my favorite movies, Good Will Hunting, so that alone earns points from me.
  • I wasn’t sure how a product could work well for both cheeks and lips, but it does! I thought it’d go on thick and really noticeable, but nope! (I mean, I guess you could by adding more, but say no to clowns okay?)
  • I wouldn’t wear it on my lips, but that’s because I can only wear certain balms on my lips (That’s another blog post, so really it has nothing to do with the product).
  • I’d love to try the other colors (for contour), I bet they would be awesome on your cheeks.
  • If I could use this on my lips too, it’d be worth it, but just for cheeks? I don’t think I’d go for that price.

Verdict: Oui! | Je Ne Sais Pas | Non

Skin&Co Roma | Truffle Therapy Serum Boosting Anti-Aging Serum
Antioxidant-rich truffle extract helps smooth wrinkles and restore dull, parched skin. $75.00 Full-size face-creme
Five Points to Ponder:

  • It smells awesome.
  • It’s easy to add to your night regime.
  • I didn’t really notice a difference in my skin though…
  • I think this means I’m not as old as I feel. Win.
  • Even if it did work though, I couldn’t spend that much on 30ml. Do you know how many books that could buy?

Verdict: Oui! | Je Ne Sais Pas | Non

Obliphica Professional | Treatment Hair Serum
Lightweight frizz-tamer that repairs and protects hair with omega-rich sea buckthorn berry. $38.00 Full-size
hair-serum
Five Points to Ponder:

  • I love hair serums these days, since I either blow dry or straighten my hair every day. This one didn’t make my hair greasy. That made me happy.
  • Since my hair is really short, the sample lasts a long time 🙂
  • But I still need styling products after I blow dry my hair (some serums work as both).
  • The full size isn’t that big…boo.
  • It’s worth trying!

Verdict: Oui! | Je Ne Sais Pas | Non

Do any of these products look fun to you? I’d love to know which ones you would like to try! Also, if interested in signing up for Birchbox, just go here!

Leave a Reply

