Ipsy Review | August

Well, sad day. I realize I’ve been a bit behind on this blog. Can I blame Breaking Bad? I started watching it and I can’t say I’ve been as productive as I should be. So totally not my fault. 😉 Really though, I plan on changing that right quick!

To kick it off, I’m excited to share about my first Ipsy bag! Much like Birchbox, but all makeup. I’m much more a makeup gal than a product gal, so these are way fun! Plus they come with a makeup bag each month!

ipsy-july

Absolute Lip Balm | Green Apple | $5.99

Treat your lips with this ultra-moisturizing lip balm from Absolute New York. This lightly tinted, creamy, conditioning formula softens, smooths, and protects lips for a seriously kissable pout. Discover this must-have balm for sensationally soft and luscious lips!

I admit, I didn’t try this one – didn’t want to risk my lips freaking out on me again, but it smells good 🙂

Dr. Brandt Pores No More Pore Refiner | $45.00

A cult favorite, Pores No More Pore Refiner Primer is Dr. Brandt’s quick fix for flawless, photo-ready skin. It is the miracle base to create the perfect skin canvas for long-lasting makeup and well-preserved skin. This velvety formula absorbs excess oil, minimizes pores, blurs fine lines and is resistant to sweat and humidity. Prime, touch-up and treat while perfecting your makeup.

Key Benefits:
– Minimizes the appearance of pores by diffusing light
– Blurs imperfections & lines
– Erases shine & mattifies skin
– Absorbs oil, reduces shine and helps regulate sebum production
– Antibacterial action for a healthy skin
– Acts as a shield to prevent make-up from clogging pores

I’d be willing to give this one another shot, but the initial times I used this, I didn’t really notice a difference. Then again I live in Texas, so completely preventing skin from getting shiny during the day would be a miracle.

Urban Decay Perversion Mascara | $22.00

Bigger. Blacker. Badder. Urban Decay’s ultra-creamy, lengthening and volumizing mascara features triple-black pigments and a deeply nourishing ingredient blend. Perversion Mascara gets you sexy in one stroke, yet it won’t quit until you say when.

This is a great mascara, but there were a couple things that prevent me from giving it a full star review. It goes on kind of clumpy, so I had to use extra tools, and when water hits, get ready for some black eyes. Granted it’s not meant to be waterproof, so if you’re doing the Ice Bucket Challenge, maybe pick something else.

Coastal Scents Forever Blush Sample Duo | $8.95

Coastal Scents Forever Blush boasts 18 perfectly pigmented, powder blushes with a long-lasting rush of color. Complete with a mirror, these color-packed compacts go a long way.

These are great! I’ve tried their eyeshadows before through Birchbox, but I must say, the blushes are much better! Pretty colors and long lasting.

Lord & Berry Silk Kajal Kohl Eye Pencil | $18.00

Sensual and exotic, that’s the effect that Silk Kajal Kohl Eye Pencil delivers. Just like the traditional Kohl, but with the modern ease and control of a pencil. Giving a semi-matte finish that is also smudgeable, Silk Kajal Kohl’s soft tip is ophthalmologically-tested and gentle enough to be used on the inner eye. Also available in Nudo and White.

If you love pencil eye-liners, you might want to consider checking this out. Even for someone who prefers gels, I liked this one!

Alright friends, what makeup colors or products are your favorites?

2 thoughts on “Ipsy Review | August

  1. perfimperfect says:

    Ooo, I used to have the big Coastal Scents palettes but I haven’t tried their stuff in years. I think I’ll take a peek at their site.

Leave a Reply

