14 Lessons from 2014

A few months ago, a post I wrote on an old blog, popped up on the radar. It was titled “Bye bye 20s – it was fun!” My first thought was along the lines of “what in the actual what? How was that over two years ago? That means I’ve been in my 30s for more than a minute and that sounds weird.”

Yet, it was also rather refreshing to read and inspired me to have an end of the year post along the same lines and since we’re in 2014, I’ve decided to share 14 lessons I’ve learned from this year. So here we go…

1. The Lord can move mountains. A few months ago, one of my closest friends moved to Austin and is now my roommate. Y’all, this is something I would never EVER have thought possible (of all my girlfriends, she always had the strongest opinions against Texas ;). So yes, the Lord can do the impossible.

2. When you are hoping for a red light (say to finish a text or write a reminder note), you get all green lights. The time you are late? Red. Every.single.time.

3. I still want to be a Goonie.

4. Sometimes God’s yes is scarier than His no.

5. Texans still don’t know how to drive in the rain.

6. I want to change the world in any way I can. It looks different for everyone and I don’t get why people don’t at least try.

7. There is so much brokenness in this world. Much of what’s happened recently in the US (and the world) has reminded me to urgently pray for the Gospel to reign, for reconciliation and for people’s hearts to turn to Jesus. It makes me sad that battles fought decades ago are still being fought today.

sheldon-wisconsin020

8. I don’t think there will ever come a time when I don’t need my parents. Whether to just text a picture of my cat (my Dad is always thrilled to get those 🙂 or ask about the differences between eggs (Grade AA or A? No idea) or why my truck is making a weird noise or ways to pray for me, they truly are a rock I can always lean on.

9. I recently tried something I’ve never done before and while the jury is still out, it’s encouraged me to try at least one thing that scares the living daylights out of me more often than not.

10. Writing has become such an important part of my life. Even if it’s something I don’t post, it’s therapeutic. That’s an exciting discovery.

11. I don’t know if there is a magic age when you feel like an adult, but 32 isn’t it. 🙂

12. Since I’ve become a Christian, Joshua 1:9 has been a life verse. Since my life in Texas, Romans 12:12 has been added. I’ve experienced and prayed this much in 2014.

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction and faithful in prayer. Romans 12:12

13. People can be jerks and selfish, but don’t let their actions change who you are. Learn from it, pray for them, forgive and move on.

14. This year has been an incredible year of blogging and making friendships with fellow bloggers and readers! It’s truly been a blessing. 🙂

How about you? What lessons have you learned this year?

Also, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year friends! Thanks for making this year an incredible one! I’ll be back with all new material on She Laughs with Dignity in 2015!!

6 thoughts on “14 Lessons from 2014

  1. Ganise says:

    Is it possible to feel like I comment too much on this blog?! Ah well. All your posts interest me. Can’t help it and hope you don’t mind!

    4. True. And very deep.

    6. *applauds*

    7. Yes.

    8. This made me smile!! Your dad likes getting pictures of your cat? Aww!!!

    Don’t want to make the comment too long. Merry Christmas and happy new year, Jamie! Enjoyed reading this.

  2. courtney207 says:

    What great lessons, Jamie! I totally agree that parents are essential and wonderful. Cat photos are always awesome to share. If yours are anything like my photo folders, it’s more like cat, cat, book, pretty scene, cat, person, cat!

    Thank you for sharing Romans 12:12!

    #11 You’re a few years closer to that magic age than me, but I was hoping that was coming sooner! I mean, we have to actually do stuff and make important decisions while still feeling like this?? 😉

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you, too!

    • jamielynne82 says:

      Thanks friend! I’m especially thinking of you and your family this Christmas as well!

      My phone camera is totally like that. Let’s see how many pictures of my cat I can take – haha! But at least I don’t post them all right??

      Maybe when I hit the mid-30s next year with #33, I’ll start feeling like I know what I’m doing 😉 I’ll keep you posted!

      Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

