10 Verses for 2015

One thing I love seeing is the “word” people will choose for the year. The story behind their word and what their hopes are for the new year are inspiring. I haven’t yet done this, but maybe one day I’ll jump in!

Recently though, there’s been several verses that have been just what I needed to hear as we hit month #2 of 2015. So here’s a few of them and may they also minister to you as they have me :).

Verses-for-2015

Ephesians 3:20
“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.”

If I had to pick a theme verse for 2015, this one would be it. My church did a series on this in early Fall and it’s been popping up ever since then. I love that I can trust in the truth that God has far more than I can imagine on the horizon. Good thing too, because homegirl can be a hot mess sometimes (or most of the time).

Galatians 4:28
“Now you, brothers and sisters, like Isaac, are children of promise.”

This verse brings such joy to my soul. I am part of a promise!

Psalm 121:6
“The Lord keeps watch over you as you come and go, both now and forever.”

Yes and amen. I am so thankful for this truth. So thankful.

Psalm 103:1-5
“Praise the Lord, my soul;
all my inmost being, praise his holy name.
Praise the Lord, my soul,
and forget not all his benefits—
who forgives all your sins
and heals all your diseases,
who redeems your life from the pit
and crowns you with love and compassion,
who satisfies your desires with good things
so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.”

Recently at church, I came across these words from a hymn: Redeeming Love shall be my theme…Until the day I die. These words and scripture revived my soul that day. Such truth! (I know, I need to find other words to describe these verses ; ).

Psalm 61:2
“From the ends of the earth I call to you, I call as my heart grows faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I.”

While I have no complaints on how the year has started, I know it won’t be 365 days of peachy keen bliss. So what an incredible promise I can hold on to with this scripture – that even when my heart grows faint, I can go to the Rock who is higher. Amen? Amen!

Isaiah 40:28-29
“Do you not know?
Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
and his understanding no one can fathom.
He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.”

In the midst of busy, chaos, life, blogging, exercising, etc., I sometimes lose the sense of wonder of just how big God is. This is one of those verses that reminds me and keeps me grounded.

Psalm 27:14
“Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.”

There have been many things my heart has longed for throughout my 32 years and that’s probably why I’ve had this verse with me for the past several years. Lord, help me to wait and continue to seek You in the waiting!

Psalm 71:14
“As for me, I will always have hope; I will praise you more and more.”

Sometimes it only takes knowing my hope is in Jesus. That is enough.

Colossians 3:12-14
“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.”

The call of a believer isn’t an easy, but I’m thankful every day that I’m not alone in the battle and the struggle. I have fellow believers to spur me on and my Rock is Christ.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8
“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
Love never fails.”

I feel like this set of verses gets a bad wrap. I see that scripture reference and automatically think wedding time!! While I love me some weddings (free food and an excuse to dance all night = win), this verse is so much more than about the love between a man and woman. Imagine if the world lived out these words? For friends, for spouses, for children, for strangers…the world would be a truly more beautiful place. I want to live a life that delights in all things good, protects, trusts and hopes.

That’s what I got for today! What are some verses you’ve been drawn to recently?

4 thoughts on “10 Verses for 2015

  1. richarddjames says:

    Psalm 130 “I wait for the LORD, my soul waits, and in his word I hope” (v5). The Anglican lectionary reads lots of the “Psalms of Ascent” in the season after Ascension Day, and they’re all wonderful ways to pray and praise.

Leave a Reply

