In Search of Mr. Darcy… | Part 1

(The In Search Of Mr. Darcy Series is a look at the often humorous stories, the lessons and the experiences of a single gal in her 30s who also happens to love Jesus. This can be funny and I’ve learned more than a lesson or two. These are topics and discussions I know I (and my friends) have dealt with (or am still dealing with) as a single lady living life. From funny things I’ve heard, mistakes I’ve made, to the joys of watching my jeans shrink, here’s my story (so far) in this wonderful decade known as the 30s. You can find past entries here!)

in-search-of-mr-darcy

Have y’all ever seen the book All My Friends Are Dead? If that isn’t just a bowl of cherries for kids to read, then I don’t know what is. It has a horribly sad, albeit cute, dinosaur on the cover and instead of finding his friends, he realizes they’re all dead. Some might call it an uplifting tale.

It reminds me of what many people think life is like for a single Christian gal in her thirties. Why do I say this? Well, I’m not married, I love Jesus and am in my 30s, so I have experience in this realm.

41caDQc+EXL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

See, poor dino.

It’s safe to say some folks think this means there’s something wrong or there’s some bad juju going around, and it must be remedied stat.

Everyone has an opinion on dating. You know, so I can “fix” my issue. Court only! Online is the way to go! Go on as many blind dates as possible! For the love of baby Jesus, why is finding a husband not the only thing you’re focusing on?

Now hear me out, I’m not hatin on one path over the other. If you’re loving the Lord and got married at 21 – awesome. If you’re called to singleness – awesome. If you desire to get married, but haven’t yet and are figuring out this whole dating thing – awesome. We all have our different paths and one isn’t better than the other. So I want to talk about it.

Because we are more than a status box. Far more. We have been given one precious life to live to the fullest and if we get caught up in expectations, we miss out.

Plus there’s some funny stories to be told. Like this one:

A few years back (when I was 26), I was visiting my hometown for my sister’s church bridal shower. Outside of holidays, it was one of my first trips back to visit since I moved the previous year. I was able to catch up with several folks and the most asked question? Had I met anyone? Apparently I was supposed to have met someone in Texas already since it had almost been 365 days since I’d left.

No concern about my church, friends or career. Plus, some of the things asked are too embarrassing to put on the internet. But let me tell you.

There was so much “WHAT IN THE ACTUAL WHAT” going on in my head.

The things some people not only think, BUT ASK, if you’re Christian and not married are absurd. Honesty, you just have to laugh.

(I’m also not saying this as a blanket statement or anyone who asks me about my relationship status makes things totally awkward. Also, since this isn’t just based on my experiences, there’s many others who have had much more awkward encounters than I have. Life right? ; )

Story #2: Recently, I was skyping with my best friend and we were chatting about boys (well more specifically a boy, she’s married with three adorable boys) and lamenting over my amazing ability to never seem to match up. Either it’s the wrong guy, he’s not interested, I’m not interested or it just didn’t work out. (Feel free to start singing One Direction’s ‘Story of My Life’ now. You’ll find no judgement from me). We chuckled and laughed and I made a joke that maybe it’s because God wants me to write a book.

While I haven’t jumped on the book idea quite yet, I like the idea of a blog series. I wanted to call this series In Search of the King of Gondor, but apparently that doesn’t have the same vibe as Mr. Darcy and could possibly be confused with a travel book of Middle Earth aka New Zealand. Plus, while Darcy is no Aragorn, he’s certainly not too shabby himself.

I call this post the official introduction. What about y’all? If you’re single, do you have some funny stories? If you’re married, did you ever encounter funny single happenings? I’d love to hear them!

So it begins…

10 thoughts on “In Search of Mr. Darcy… | Part 1

  1. Ganise says:

    I used to make a big deal out of this – the whole finding a guy thing. And while I do understand that there is nothing wrong with the desire for it as it is God-given, there is something VERY wrong with culture’s (and the Church’s) obsession over this. I completely agree with you on the idea that we are more than just a status. There are so many things to experience in this life – so many places to see, so many people to help, so much beauty to behold. May we all choose to enjoy life in its fullness and trust God’s timing.

    • jamielynne82 says:

      Such wisdom! It’s true – there’s so much to experience and amazing things God has planned. I look back at my 20s and smile. They were so much fun and full of traveling adventures and I wouldn’t have traded them for anything else!

      Here’s to living life to the fullest friend!

  2. Rissi says:

    Many girls place a lot on that “status.” Perhaps it’s because we’re in a social media obsessed culture, I don’t know. But I believe that for those of us who are still looking for Mr. Darcy, we should enjoy this time and look on it more as a time to solidify and be sure in our (single) life’s walk with God. As Ganise says, it’s a good time, time to enjoy so much.

    Great series, Jamie! 🙂

  3. courtney207 says:

    I have to second what Cassie said – I’m going to love these posts of yours! Way to go, Jamie 🙂 I agree with you, sometimes the people you think should support you are those who question your “singleness” too much. I appreciate your stance and confidence, girlfriend!

Leave a Reply

