What keeps you from living God’s purposes for you?

(The IF:Gathering-Inspired Discussion Series came about after I had the chance to attend the conference this past February. It was an incredible and amazing conference. Throughout the two days, they provided discussion questions to go over with people seated by you. After going over a handful of the questions, I knew this was something I wanted to dig deeper into, so that’s what this series will be about; me picking one of the questions, sharing some thoughts and inviting you to join! Because who wants to wrestle with faith questions all alone? You can read past entries here.)

Faith-discussions-IF-Gathering

What keeps you from living God’s purposes for you?

Oh hey, this is totally an easy question to work through! Just kidding, digging in deep and being honest with myself usually turns into what I like to call a “hot mess.” As I’ve thought about my answer, it made me chuckle because I write about this, go through it, come out stronger and know it’s a necessary part of life, yet it still hangs around like a jerk.

If I’m being totally honest, the answer to this question is failure.

I know, I know! How many times have I mentioned it here or how many stories have you read about the good that came from some kind of failure? Here’s another strange twist to the tale – while I don’t fear failure happening (because I know it will happen in situations, with people…life), I don’t like it and I hate when I have to deal with it. Yes, the outcome tends to refine the heck outta me, but the process? Boo.

Here’s another thing I’ve learned, knowing that leads me to a place of leaning into Him even more. When I’m praying about a new opportunity, a new situation, it’s easy for the feeling of being overwhelmed at already bombing whatever it is I’m thinking about and that forces me to pray deeper, seek Him greater and dive into His Word more. Does that happen every time? Nope, not at all because I belong to this subspecies referred to as “humans,” but even when that’s not my first response, I know what to strive for.

These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. 1 Peter 1:7

It’s only fitting that what sometimes stops (or maybe “slows down” is a better phrase) me, is what God uses to refine me.

What’s something that sometimes puts up a roadblock (or maybe a really high speed bump)?

Leave a Reply

