Rediscovering “Amen”

One of my favorite worship songs right now is Matt Maher’s “Because He Lives.” It’s such a beautiful and powerful worship song. One of my favorite parts of the chorus is this:

I’m alive, I’m alive
Because He lives

Followed by singing “Amen, Amen.”

I was singing this in the car recently and after, I started thinking about what the meaning of Amen is. I mean, I know the basic meaning, but it’s such a profound part of the song because it’s exclaiming the truths of the song, like these:

  • I believe in the risen One
  • I’m alive because He lives
  • I was dead in the grave, I was covered in sin and shame
  • I heard mercy call my name
  • I can face tomorrow
  • Every fear is gone
  • I know He holds my life
  • My future in His hands

Yes, I basically just bullet-pointed (new word!) the lyrics, but when you read them isn’t it amazing? As I started researching the meaning of Amen, not only is it a declaration of affirmation, but it also means “So be it” and “Truly.”

When I say “Amen!” I’m declaring such statements true. I’m declaring the words unshakable and unchanging. I’m saying that no matter what, this is life. This is truth.

And all for His glory.

For me, this song and research was a reminder I need to not fear living out that truth. My future is in His hand, everything is okay because He is the risen, my past is in the past and I can experience grace freely.

What a beautiful truth.

“For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ. And so through him the “Amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God.” 2 Corinthians 1:20

6 thoughts on “Rediscovering “Amen”

Leave a Reply

