What does it mean to you to have faith?

(The IF:Gathering-Inspired Discussion Series came about after I had the chance to attend the conference this past February. It was an incredible and amazing conference. Throughout the two days, they provided discussion questions to go over with people seated by you. After going over a handful of the questions, I knew this was something I wanted to dig deeper into, so that’s what this series will be about; me picking one of the questions, sharing some thoughts and inviting you to join! Because who wants to wrestle with faith questions all alone? You can read past entries here.)

Faith-discussions-IF-Gathering

What does it mean to you to have faith?

I hadn’t even considered it because, well I LOVED my truck. Isaac (my truck’s name) was old though and earlier this year I started talking to my Dad about when it was wise to keep putting money in a car versus getting a new one (Basic 13 year old care maintenance is bloody expensive. Often times I felt like saying “I’m sorry how much do you want for that tube? Surely you jest.”) and he suggested maybe looking at cars when he came out in May. WHA???? That sounded too adult-ish for me at that moment. Please try back in 40 years Dad.

Isn’t he pretty?

Isn’t he pretty?

After months of praying about it though, I had peace about it, so I started moving forward. Trucks (especially Toyotas) hold their value, so I knew I wouldn’t have a problem selling it. I posted it and got one or two responses, but nothing final (plenty of shady McShady Craigslist spam though). I was frustrated.

Not because I suddenly wouldn’t be buying a new car (I liked my truck), but because I had felt a real peace about the decision and it wasn’t looking to work out. Did I not hear God right? Was I rushing it? My Dad on the other hand, well he just kept telling me to trust God would make all things work out how they were supposed to.

Me? Whatever. Grumble. Clearly I was praying wrong. Grumble.

What ended up happening? Well, I sold my car the same day I bought one. It worked out perfectly because my Dad was in town and was able to be with me the whole process. Because questions about engines? No ma’am.

What was the Lord telling me? “Patience playa, patience.” Just kidding, I’m totally not a playa, but patience? That’s a lesson I’ll be learning until the day I meet Jesus face to face.

I think, though, more importantly, another lesson I learned in this whole process was I need to trust the peace He gives. That’s part of having faith – trusting when He does speak.

The peace He gives is true and He can teach me that lesson with something as small as selling a girl’s first truck.

The Lord blesses His People with peace. Psalm 29:11

What does having faith mean to you? Has there been a recent example in your life?

2 thoughts on “What does it mean to you to have faith?

Leave a Reply

