How do you persevere in your faith?

(The IF:Gathering-Inspired Discussion Series came about after I had the chance to attend the conference this past February. It was an incredible and amazing conference. Throughout the two days, they provided discussion questions to go over with people seated by you. After going over a handful of the questions, I knew this was something I wanted to dig deeper into, so that’s what this series will be about; me picking one of the questions, sharing some thoughts and inviting you to join! Because who wants to wrestle with faith questions all alone? You can read past entries here.)

Faith-discussions-IF-Gathering

How do you persevere in your faith?

The first thing that popped into my head when reading this question was the news. Is it just me or 37 seconds into watching the news, it’s easy to become angry, overwhelmed, disheartened, or saddened? How easy it would be to be consumed by despair. Because the world sucks. satan must think he’s got this.

Even if you manage to avoid the news, life always brings about its own pains, hurts, and hardships that make it real easy to want to throw in the towel.

Yet, in these times of darkness, the Lord has continued to use a song, a scripture or a friend to remind me of truth.

Truth that there’s a hope we can hold on to.
Truth that God goes before me.
Truth that He is able.

Holding on to those truths and knowing this world isn’t it, that is what helps me persevere.

C.S. Lewis a.k.a. Mic Dropper, has a short yet incredible chapter on hope in Mere Christianity. I love it for numerous reasons, one being the hope it gives that this world isn’t it and by living that way gives me something more:

“If you read history you will find that the Christians who did most for the present world were just those who thought most of the next.”

“If I find myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.”

“I must keep alive in myself the desire for my true country, which I shall not find till after death; I must never let it get snowed under or turned aside; I must make it the main object of life to press on to that country and to help others to do the same.” 

Then there’s the times I’m driving and the exact song I need to hear comes on (and I may or may not shed a few tears). Like Chris Tomlin’s “Whom Shall I Fear (God Of Angel Armies)”
I know who goes before me
I know who stands behind
The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

The one who reigns forever
He is a friend of mine
The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

My good friend texted me Ephesians 3:20 last week as encouragement and this is such a needed (read DAILY) reminder that the God I love and serve knows all my feelings and isn’t done with me or this world yet.

“Now glory be to God! By His mighty power at work within us, He is able to accomplish infinitely more than we would ever dare to ask or hope. Ephesians 3:20

I’m thankful this life is only one small chapter and the next ones will continue to be more beautiful than the ones before.

With His grace, strength and mercy, I know I can keep on keeping on.

The Lord is my strength and shield, I trust Him with all my heart. The Lord helps me and my heart is filled with joy. Psalm 28:7

How do you persevere in your faith?

4 thoughts on “How do you persevere in your faith?

  1. The Word Collector says:

    Wow, such an amazing and true post, Jamie. Thank you for sharing. ❤ Just knowing the fact that hardships and trials in life help me to grow in my faith really encourages me. Oh yeah, and knowing that what God has for us in heaven is so much better than anything on this earth.

Leave a Reply

