Why Travel? Here’s 7 Reasons

“Traveling is the only thing you buy that makes you richer.”

I’m not sure who first said that, but to that I say YES AND AMEN.

I remember the exact moment in life I decided I would see the world. It was 1991 and I was 9. My parents decided to take us to Walt Disney World Florida (and also exciting Edgard, Louisiana). I may have shared bits of this story before, so forgive me for any repeats.

We all went to Epcot Center on one of the days and after “visiting” the first country, I was 900% hooked. You see, Epcot Center has several international pavilions and each had people from those countries working there. My parents bought me a passport and I got to go around to each place, look at the architecture, see the cute trinkets and talk to people from around the world.

I was deeply and madly in love.

I think it was after 2-3 stops my parents realized there was no stopping my mission to visit every country. So we split up, my Mom took my siblings and cousin on rides and my Dad took me to each country. Rides? What rides Dad?! I gotta see the world!

I still have it!

I still have it!

So began my lifelong love of traveling both near and far (I talked about the lovely Ireland here). Here’s the thing with the travel bug; once you start you will never want to stop and I think that’s amazing.

On a recent trip to Colorado (I 100% blame recent travels for neglect of this blog, but hey, it provided some new inspiration!) I was thinking about why I love traveling and thought it was the perfect time to convince the Internet to travel as much as possible!

This post is unsponsored, but if an airline company sees it and likes it, feel free to pass along a free flight or two. I shall graciously expect :).

1. The world is no longer a face without a name. I think one of the reasons I have such a passion for social justice and change is because I’ve been to many of these places and have seen the beautiful faces behind all of the stats. It’s amazing how much our perceptions and thoughts change towards fellow man when we have to opportunity to spend time with them. I’m not saying you have to spend days, sometimes it is just a few passing moments.

2. It is fun! I can go on for days about this one. I don’t have a study to quote, but I’m pretty sure there is a scientific evidence out there proving that you burn more calories due to laughing and adventuring. Whether with family or friends, fun is waiting. Right now I’m laughing while typing this thinking of hilarious times.

lapeyrolerie-Africa

Visiting a school is Zambia – loved these kids!

3. You get to challenge yourself and stretch yourself. This might sound crazy, but not everyone lives like we do in the United States of America. Wha??? I know right? Who would have thought…

4. The food. I admit, I don’t eat anything and everything. Vanilla is and always will be my favorite ice cream. But that doesn’t mean I won’t try things at least once (I draw the line at bugs internet). There is some amazing food out there in the world just waiting to be eaten. Now I’m thinking of all the foods I’m craving that are far, far away from me. Curses.

San Fran with my sister and close friends = we all still crave the Crepes of San Fran

San Fran with my sister and close friends = we all still crave the crepes.

5. Culture changes you as a person (and for the better). Trust me on this.

6. Cheeseball alert…the memories!! A significant majority of my favorite all times memories have been while I am traveling – whether a short road trip or somewhere international, the memories truly do last forever. Like I said, cheeseball to the core. ; )

lapeyrolerie-new-york-city

When your friend turns 30, you go on a trip!

7. Beauty. One thing that reminds me of God’s creativity and majesty is traveling. Whether a beach, the mountains or people’s compassion and kindness, seeing the world has always drawn me closer to Jesus in ways I’ll never forget.

It’s probably because I’m itching to plan my next trip, but I hope y’all are inspired to pack up a car full of friends or maybe hop on a plane and go somewhere fun. If you aren’t sure where to start, I hear Austin has some cool people and pretty amazing food.

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – St. Augustine

Why do you love to travel? Where would you love to go if money wasn’t an issue?

12 thoughts on “Why Travel? Here’s 7 Reasons

Leave a Reply

