Je Suis Paris

Yesterday I had planned on finishing up another edition of Little Letters to post today, but then the news hit about Paris and I knew I couldn’t. My heart was and is too heavy. After the horrific events of yesterday – the terror attacks on innocent people – it’s too hard for me to write about anything else.

Like many of you, I love Paris and France. I love that my last name clearly states my French heritage. I love the language, I love the people. I look forward to the day I get to visit again. I have stationary with the Eiffel Tower, I have a painting of the Tower hanging downstairs. I have friends who live in Paris (they are okay) and friends who live elsewhere, but call Paris home. Je t’aime Paris. Hearing the horrifying events is beyond heart breaking.

And it’s not just Paris who was attacked in the past two days. Thursday night, Beirut saw 41 one people murdered at the hands of two suicide bombers – the deadliest attack in the capital since the end of the of Lebanon’s civil war in 1990. Friday was also a deadly day in Baghdad, with a suicide bomber killing 26 (injuring over 40 more) at a memorial service. So much evil, so much pain, so much hurt.

I don’t have much more to say or add, but to those affected by these hateful and terrorist acts, we love you and are with you. We are praying for you and may you feel His peace in these dark times.

This world is a broken and torn place – people searching for purpose in so many of the wrong places. I pray for them too.

But even in this darkness, I have hope in a Grace that is greater. I have hope in Gospel that is true. I have hope.

“And so, Lord, where do I put my hope? My only hope is in You.” Psalm 39:7

May God’s people continue to be a light in this darkening world.

Taken during my last visit to Paris.

Taken during my last visit to Paris.

Leave a Reply

