Holding Fast to God’s Word – Thoughts That Turned to Refugees

(The IF:Gathering-Inspired Discussion Series came about after I had the chance to attend the conference this past February. It was an incredible and amazing conference. Throughout the two days, they provided discussion questions to go over with people seated by you. After going over a handful of the questions, I knew this was something I wanted to dig deeper into, so that’s what this series will be about; me picking one of the questions, sharing some thoughts and inviting you to join! Because who wants to wrestle with faith questions all alone? You can read past entries here.)

Faith-discussions-IF-Gathering

How does holding fast to God’s Word shift the way you live day to day?

It’s interesting that this question popped up on my list this week to discuss and share about. You see, I had a really hard day Monday looking at social media with the response to what many Governors said they would do – close their doors to refugees. It wasn’t so much their response (although I don’t agree), but many of my fellow brothers and sisters in Christ – praising the decisions, asking that we call D.C. and demand to keep us “safe.”

I know there’s a lot of division on this topic right now, but y’all – I don’t get it. I understand being scared. 100%. What happened in Paris and Beirut last week were horrendous and horrific (although those words don’t do it justice) and it’s a scary and dark world we live in. I remember 9/11 vividly. And outside of studying the facts (Including – from Christianity Today – how “refugees that enter the United States have been vetted by multiple agencies for a minimum of 18 months”), I think it’s important for us, as believers, to remember what Jesus said.

So what does this have to do with today’s question about how holding fast to God’s Word shifts my thinking? Well, everything. Because after all this happened, that is what I turned to and I find I can’t turn away from His call to the least of these. Not only do we have a chance to live out the Gospel, we have a chance to encounter people who didn’t have much or no access to the Gospel before.

If we aren’t the Gospel to the least of these, then who will be?

(Check out this article if you haven’t already – they have many of the verses I share below)

He defends the cause of the fatherless and the widow, and loves the foreigner residing among you, giving them food and clothing. And you are to love those who are foreigners, for you yourselves were foreigners in Egypt. (Deuteronomy 10:18-19)

Just as a body, though one, has many parts, but all its many parts form one body, so it is with Christ. For we were all baptized by one Spirit so as to form one body—whether Jews or Gentiles, slave or free—and we were all given the one Spirit to drink. Even so the body is not made up of one part but of many. (1 Corinthians 12:12-14)

For the entire law is fulfilled in keeping this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” (Galatians 5:14)

Jesus-words

I don’t want to forget the faces of millions of innocent babies and children and women and innocent men fleeing for their very lives.

I don’t want to let fear win.

I don’t want to forget that loving doesn’t equate to easy living. Loving is scary. Loving is dangerous.

But that’s the kind of Love that wins.

Leave a Reply

