The Thing About Miracles

I’ve seen quite a few miracles recently. Big ones too.

Adoptions finally happening.

Family relationships and rifts slowly beginning to heal for the first time in years.

And it’s been incredible. These are things I (and so many others) have been praying for over friends for years.

I tear up thinking about both not only because they are beautiful, awesome and the answers to prayers cried out for so long, but because in clear visible ways in the lives of women I love, the Lord has completely shown me that He is good. Do I believe He is good when He doesn’t answer prayers in the way I envisioned? Oh course He is, but I also don’t want to be afraid to rejoice when He chooses to answer prayers in the way our hearts longed for.

Because if I’m being honest, how often I need to be reminded that He is good. Oh, I know that truth deep down in my heart, but too often in my waiting I lose sight of that. I get restless waiting. Frustrated. Dejected even. It can get like that when you know the Lord has placed certain things on your heart, but you start doubting because the timeline is longer than expected. Or maybe you tried something and it didn’t turn out as planned. And you’re back to square one.

miracles-she-laughs

But as I was reading these text conversations recently, it hit me all over again. That these were big things the Lord was revealing right before me. Miracles. None of these were the timeline any of us thought, but they turned out to be perfect and have brought more glory to His name in ways that wouldn’t have been possible if it worked out early, no miracle necessary.

What an incredible God we serve! I’ll end with a few verses that have encouraged and reminded me of God and miracles.

“You are the God who performs miracles; you display your power among the peoples.” Psalm 77:14

“With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” Matthew 19:26

“He is the one you praise; He is your God, who performed for you those great and awesome wonders you saw with your own eyes.” Deuteronomy 10:21

I pray that if you find yourself like me, these verses and promises will revive your heart and soul.

2 thoughts on “The Thing About Miracles

Leave a Reply

