“Can We Have A Chat About Proverbs 31?”

Proverbs-31

If you have ever meandered to my About Page, you’ll see this bit towards the bottom:

Oh and my blog title? A play on Proverbs 31:25: “She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.”

As you can see it’s a real in-depth and meaningful description of my blog name. So, how about some confession time? Proverbs 31 and I have an interesting relationship. Now don’t get me wrong and start praying for my salvation. I do really love this Proverb and I believe in the Word, I trust in this and know the Lord uses it to draw folks closer to Him. There’s some of my favorite verses from this Proverb. But some? I’d rather ignore.

To help explain this, as well as the origin of my blog name, I present to you the Not Really Theological Commentary by Jamie Lapeyrolerie. I have chosen a few key verses (the full edition is coming out soon…like in a thousand years) to add some in depth and “life changing” discussion.

Commence Commentary:
10 A wife of noble character who can find?
She is worth far more than rubies.
11 Her husband has full confidence in her
and lacks nothing of value.
Remember that one time I didn’t have a husband? And there’s people who hint that I’m not complete until I do? A) #Paul B) Promise I’m still a noble-ish type gal.

14 She is like the merchant ships,
bringing her food from afar.
Does Chick-fil-A count as “afar.” It’s like tithing right? What about Trader Joe’s? That totally sounds like a merchant.

15 She gets up while it is still night;
she provides food for her family
Y’all, I like my sleep. Alot. I have five alarms I manage to turn off 3-4 each morning with no recollection of doing so. I feed my cat sometimes when it’s still dark though. So check?

16 She considers a field and buys it;
out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.
Does buying wine count?

Lest you think I was telling falsehoods when I said I did love this section, here’s a few favorites I daily strive for:
20 She opens her arms to the poor
and extends her hands to the needy.
25 She is clothed with strength and
dignity;
she can laugh at the days to come.
Shoutout to the blog name!
26 She speaks with wisdom,
and faithful instruction is on her tongue.

I love that I can joke about half of this Proverb and also be encouraged by it. I can truly laugh at the days to come (especially since I’m usually hot mess status) because I know the Lord is leading the way. I’m not going to pretend all of God’s commands are cake to follow or that refining comes easy. It doesn’t.

But there’s good news. I don’t have to control it or hold on to what little thread I’m working through in life. Why? Because Jesus is holding on to me. That was taken care of on the cross. And praise the Lord nothing is dependent on my strength!

Amen to the fact that every piece of my life doesn’t have to be put together. Anyone else feel the relief?

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah‬ ‭41:10‬ ‭NIV‬‬

So while I know this side of heaven I will be daily (real talk: hourly) refined by Jesus, God’s Word, the Gospel and the Holy Spirit, I like that I am always able to laugh with it, have joy and journey along life knowing all the while Jesus is on this journey right beside me.

So friends, what does the Proverb mean to you? Looking forward to hearing from you!

2 thoughts on ““Can We Have A Chat About Proverbs 31?”

Leave a Reply

