Podcasts: A New List of Favorites!

My love of podcasts continues to grow. I’m actually kind of obsessed. I did a post two years ago of favorite ones, but since then many have changed (either people stopped posting or I stopped listening – none were for negative reasons), so I thought it was due time to update because I love all of these podcasts. I laugh, cry (seriously, some people need to provide a crying warning), am inspired and did I mention I laugh?

Relevant Podcast: Let’s just say I’m a little late to the game on this gem of a podcast. It’s been around for over 10 years or something close to that. It’s great to hear from authors, athletes, musicians and a lot of others. Plus so many laughs with the hosts (I’m pretty sure people at the gym wonder about me because I burst into laughter while working out. Legit LOLing). It’s good one y’all. Promise.

The RELEVANT Podcast features the creators of RELEVANT magazine discussing the stuff that matters to your life, with in-studio music performances and interviews thrown in for kicks. The weekly show is an off-shoot of RELEVANT magazine, which covers faith, culture and intentional living.

Happy Hour with Jamie Ivey: Y’all, I just love this podcast. I know the Lord is doing amazing things through this podcast. I usually want to buy every book mentioned or instantly follow the guests. I love the authenticity from the guests and Jamie. There’s some where you crack up, some you’ll cry your eyes out and some make you stop and pause the rest of the day because they were “whoa” (I’m looking at you Ann Voskamp). Also, I saw this meme tweeted about another podcast and it’s 110% accurate about this one – I can’t stop laughing!

The Happy Hour Podcast is hosted by Jamie Ivey, and each week she brings a guest to the show. During the happy hour they will discuss anything and everything just as if you were around the table with your own girlfriends. Jamie loves to connect with women and encourage them as they journey through life. These conversations will make you laugh and cry all in one. The Happy Hour will be something you look forward to each week. You will be encouraged as you listen to other women talk about the simplest things in life to the grandest. Grab a cup of coffee and enjoy the conversation!

A Great Story with Sam Collier: This is a new one to me, but I love it. The third one I listened to was Montell Jordan and my fandom was sealed. I’ve listened to four episodes and I have to stop myself from tweeting about every one I listen to. Don’t want to seem like brand new stalker you know? I have my rep to worry about people…. or something like that…..

Sam Collier interviews leaders, influencers and celebrities about the story that God is telling through their life. Six 5 minute interviews underscored by a unique soundtrack.

The New Activist: Want to be inspired to change the world and partner with people doing just that? You need this podcast in your life.

The New Activist gives all of us a chance to learn from other activists – some of whom you’ll know, many of whom you won’t. In every episode we’ll discover what makes that person tick, what’s beautiful/hard about the work that they’re engaging in, and how we can take a step – a little or big one – in pursuing our own activism journey. We hope you enjoy The New Activist – and thank you for changing the world.

The Big Boo Cast: I pretty much laugh the whole way through this podcast. They both crack me up! I love that I still enjoy even if some of the topics are ones I’m not into (i.e. This is Us. I stand firm in my refusal to watch this show). So trust me, y’all check this one out.

Authors / speakers Melanie Shankle and Sophie Hudson – also known as Big Mama and BooMama on their blogs – talk about all the important stuff: faith, family, friends, football, fashion, and food. Plus, of course, their hair.

Alright, which ones are you listening too?

4 thoughts on “Podcasts: A New List of Favorites!

  1. Katherine Scott Jones says:

    Done! Just added three of these to my own list. Me, I’m listening religiously to the Open Door Sisterhood, Susie Davis, Eric Metaxas, and a couple of Kathi Lipp’s–Clutter-Free Academy and Communicator Academy. Thx, as always, for the tip, friend!

Leave a Reply

